Text Options for the Visually Impaired Font Size: a- A+ Color: A A A Revert 
Close vision bar

Diana Hart Selected to Participate in Prestigious Leadership Program

Hart Family

Frankfort KY – After a competitive application process, 24 female educators have been selected for the 2019 cohort of the Kentucky Women in Education Leadership (KWEL). Applicants were chosen based on specific leadership criteria. These leaders, along with some of the state’s top female executive educators, will convene January 17-18, 2019 in Louisville for a leadership forum and induction ceremony.


KWEL is designed for women working in P-12 public education who are entering or advancing their careers. KWEL members will benefit from a support system, leadership development opportunities, career advancement, shared experiences through a network of on-going professional growth and development, coaching and mentoring, and reward and recognition of women who are exemplary leaders.


“KWEL is defining the future for women in public education while building on the foundation laid by the Kentucky Women in School Administration, which was KASA’s first women’s initiative in the 1980s and 1990s when few women held leadership positions in school districts,” said Rhonda Caldwell, Ed.D., KASA executive deputy director.


The KWEL forum, January 17-18, brings both experienced and aspiring leaders together for an extraordinary growth opportunity. Its purpose is three-fold. First, it will give women that are currently serving in an executive leadership role the opportunity to mentor other women aspiring to lead at the same level. Second, it will support women that aspire to lead but may need the confidence, courage and support to take the next step. Finally, this network can give all women serving in an executive leadership role an additional support system unique to the needs of women and the challenges they face.


The 2019 inductees are:


Rachelle Bramlage-Schomburg, Director District Wide Programs, Bullitt Co.

Georgia Bryson, Elementary Principal, Hart Co.

Kelli Bush, Asst. Superintendent, Elizabethtown Ind.

Amanda Butler, Asst. Middle School Principal, Spencer Co.

Dana Crawford, Asst. Elementary Principal, Fulton Ind.

Rachel Crider, Elementary Principal, Floyd Co.

Kara Davies, Elementary Principal, Clark Co.

April Devine, Director Pupil Personnel, Hopkins Co.

Ann Elkins, Elementary Principal, Hopkins Co.

Ashley Gorman, High School Principal, Hancock Co.

Diana Hart, Director Pupil Personnel, Garrard Co.

Rebecca Hawkins, Teacher, LaRue Co.

Sherri Heise, Director Curriculum/Instruction, Pike Co.

BJ Martin, Director Curriculum/Instruction, Fayette Co.

Sandra Music, Instructional Supervisor, Johnson Co.

Tammy Newcome, Chief Academic Officer, Marion Co.

Marci Prater, Director Pupil Personnel, Boyd Co.

Emily Reed, Director Student Learning, Berea Ind.

Shelina Smith, Chief Academic Officer, Simpson Co.

Amy Swiney, Elementary Principal, Pike Co.

Melissa Turner, Asst. Elementary Principal, Floyd Co.

Adrienne Usher, Asst. Superintendent, Bullitt Co.

Carrie Wade, Asst. Middle School Principal, Pendleton Co.

Karen Ward, Curriculum Specialist, LaRue Co.


The KWEL steering committee is comprised of the following members:


• Nannette Johnston, Program Director, KY Association of School Administrators

• Rhonda Caldwell, Ed.D., CAE, KY Association of School Administrators

• Karen Cheser, Ed.D., Ft. Thomas Ind. Schools

• Althea Hurt, Hardin Co. Schools

• Dot Perkins, Ed.D., Central KY Educational Coop.

• Patricia Sheffer, Union Co. Schools


KASA is the largest school administrator group in Kentucky, representing more than 3,100 education leaders from across the commonwealth. Formed in 1969, KASA connects education leaders to policymakers, legislators, and other interest groups, and provides numerous benefits and services to Kentucky’s school administrators.

Back to School News      Print News Article
Contact Us
Garrard County Schools 322 W. Maple Ave
Lancaster, KY 40444

View Map & Directions
Phone: 859.792.3018
Fax: 859.792.4733